Monthly Archives: June 2009

5 Irish start for first Lions test

Lions rugby logo 2009Lions v.s. South Africa
Kick off: 14:00 BST

Paul O’Connell is soon to take charge of the 2009 Lions first test against the Springboks. Its going to be a very tough game for the Lions you have yet to be totally convincing.

5 Irishmen including O’Connell will start, Tommy Bowe, Brian O’Driscoll, David Wallace and Jamie Heaslip.
O’Callaghan, O’Gara and Kearney will start on the bench, it would be no suprise to see at least two get a run out.

Full Squad:
L Byrne (Ospreys and Wales); T Bowe (Ospreys and Ireland), B O’Driscoll (Leinster and Ireland), J Roberts (Cardiff Blues and Wales), U Monye (Harlequins and England); S Jones (Scarlets and Wales), M Phillips (Ospreys and Wales); G Jenkins (Cardiff Blues and Wales), L Mears (Bath and England), P Vickery (Wasps and England), A-W Jones (Ospreys and Wales), P O’Connell (Munster and Ireland, capt), T Croft (Leicester and England), D Wallace (Munster and Ireland), J Heaslip (Leinster and Ireland).

Replacements: M Rees (Scarlets and Wales), A Jones (Ospreys and Wales), D O’Callaghan (Munster and Ireland), M Williams (Cardiff Blues and Wales), H Ellis (Leicester and England), R O’Gara (Munster and Ireland), R Kearney (Leinster and Ireland).